LYNX!

13 Sep
Kitty hunts rabbits on the Northern Tundra AND keeps up with his blog reader.

Kitty hunts rabbits in Northern Boreal Forests AND keeps on top of her blog reader.

This is the first lynx (I can’t be the first blogger making this joke) roundup I’ve done on Z Before Y, and before I dive in, I want to get something off my chest.  Putting this post together has been a weird experience, fraught with lots of second-guessing and doubt.  Am I striking a proper balance between professional and playful?  If I use links seen on Facebook or Twitter, wouldn’t I be upstreaming the posters before they can add them to their own links roundups on their own blogs?  Is this link old news?  Has it already made an appearance in lots of other blogs?  Gaa-rrrh!

I don’t have scads of sites to share with you in this debut roundup.  What I decided to do was trust my instincts here and go with the material  I can say something about.

BREAKING ROWLING NEWS! 

fantastic beastsThe J.K. Rowling movie that will focus on Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them author, Newt Scamander, will be at least partially set in New York City.  This Gothamist article quotes Rowling’s Facebook announcement where she writes.

“The laws and customs of the hidden magical society will be familiar to anyone who has read the Harry Potter books or seen the films, but Newt’s story will start in New York, seventy years before Harry’s gets underway.”  (emphasis mine)

Seventy years before the Harry Potter books?  So that puts us in the early decades of the twentieth century.  How picturesque!  And impoverished.  And perilous.  I have one request for Ms. Rowling as she writes her script: don’t forget  the outer boroughs.

We Give Books“We Give Books” Lets You Read E-Picture Books for Free

A joint effort between Penguin and the Pearson Foundation, We Give Books makes dozens of high-quality and recognized picture books available to be read for free over the internet.  Madeline is there, as are Max and Ruby, along with new favorites like Llama, Llama Misses Mama and No Fits, Nilson!  You’ll also find lots of non-fiction, as well as offerings in Spanish and Nepali.  Here’s hoping the collection continues to grow!  (via Pragmatic Mom)

Pete the Cat Play to Learn Program

In my library, we are all huge devotees of the Pete the Cat books.  In fact we have Pete and his groovy buttons prominently displayed on the windows that overlook the entire Youth Wing (if I weren’t on vacation, I would take a picture and post it here).  That’s why I’ve put the spotlight on this Pete the Cat Play to Learn program that Lisa from Libraryland posted in March, instead of the more recent Where Is the Green Sheep? program praised earlier this week in Storytime Underground. Such great ideas!  Such a thoughtful blend of fun, interactivity, and focus on early literacy skills!  Now I totally want to do my own Play to Learn program.  Luckily the Pete the Cat one is there for the taking.

Pete the Cat Collage

Four stations from Libraryland’s “Pete the Cat” Play to Learn Program.

A Banned Books Display the Magpie Librarian Way!

chocolate warOur 1,118 Origami Yodas are not the only display going on where I work.   Ingrid is crushing it with her Banned Books Display.  Some patrons may be taking the signage a little too literally, but censorship has definitely become a real-life Trending Topic in the Youth Wing (and not just among those who may need to adjust their irony antennas).  Also take a look at Ingrid’s earlier post about her colorful and thought-provoking Censorship Poster.  For the record, I have killed exactly zero flies.  They hadn’t infiltrated my part of the workroom by the time I left for vacation, so I wasn’t exactly being a team player in their slaughter.

Ingrid Poster

Speaking of Origami…

In a blog post titled Brooklyn Folds 1K Yodas!!!!!!!, Mr. Tom Angleberger posts on his Origami Yoda site the video I made.  I especially like the comment from Zacharosorigami: yoda overload lol!

Looking to the future, though, I’ve been talking about making “Let’s Fold 1,000 Origami Corgis!” my next campaign.  Tasha Tudor loved corgis, so there’s your tie-in to children’s books.  It will work.  Right?  Right?  Anyone?  (LinkHow About Orange?)

origami-corgi-steven-casey

Microaggression in the Form of a Pink Ribbon?

You Can Do ItThe term ‘microaggression’ was introduced in the 1970’s by Harvard professor of psychiatry, Chester M. Pierce.  They are small acts of non-violent aggression, intentional or not, directed against those of different races, genders, cultures, etc.  The marvelous Betsy Lewin recently published an early reader title, You Can Do It!, in which a pink-beribboned girl alligator serves little other purpose to the plot than to bolster the confidence of the boy alligator protagonist.  I included the book in a new books presentation I did earlier this year, and I probably said something along the lines of, “It’s a great book, but that part isn’t cool.  Not cool at all” regarding this aspect of its character development.  Allie Jane Bruce, in a Children’s Book Council blog post, Microaggressions: Those Small Acts that Pack a Big, Negative Punchlays it out much more eloquently than I could.

“Ultimately, when analyzing for microaggressions (or, for that matter, macroaggressions), the question is “what effect does this have on its audience?” In this case, You Can Do It positively affected most of the children in my group, who enjoyed the fun, inspiring story. My impression of Charlotte, however, was that she seemed to feel devalued and type-cast. And this reaction—even if it was just Charlotte’s—is valid and deserves consideration”.

To Wear to All Your Storytimes…At Least Until the Next YouTube Sensation Hits

Fox ShirtAdmit it, children’s librarians.  You’ve been tempted to use Ylvis’ viral hit, What Does a Fox Say? in a program, haven’t you?  To make up for all those times you were flummoxed about what to do with those squirrels, rabbits, moles, and yes, foxes?  Well, the good people at shirt.woot have created the perfect shirt to wear when you do that program.  If you’re not familiar with shirt.woot, they blog a new t-shirt design every day.  If you buy it on day one, it costs a flat $12.00 (shipping and taxes included in the price).  After that, it’s $15.00.  If you go deeper into their back-catalog, it will cost you $18.00.  Not a bad deal at all!  I’d say about 2/3 of the shirts in my t-shirt drawer are products of shirt.woot.    

Well, that’s a wrap on my first links roundup.  It wasn’t so bad after all.  Have a great weekend, y’all!

~Catherine

One Response to “LYNX!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Another Handful of Links | Z Before Y - November 19, 2013

    […] in September, I posted a link to a shirt.woot tee inspired by Ylvis’ YouTube smash hit, “What Does the Fox […]

Leave a Reply

