Goodbye, Summer 2013: It’s the Final 1,000 Origami Yoda Post (with Video)

8 Sep
Yoda Panorama

A panorama photo of all the Yodas, taken by my colleague Leigh.

I have to come up with a new campaign, or other ideas for blog posts, because this is the final Origami Yoda post I’ll probably write.  Our final count exceeded 1,000.  In fact, by the time we packed in the Yoda Box, we had made it up to a grand total of 1,118 Yodas!

Last week was about getting them taped up onto the wall (on top of doing our ‘real library work’, of course), and I am hugely grateful for the assistance I received from my colleagues, Leigh, Paulo, and Tatiana in this.  I don’t mind saying, the display looks spectacular.  We had a mammoth, horizontal space at our disposal, and we stretched out and made the most of it.

The week before last, I prepared by creating some artwork for the display.  I started out with making a super-sized Yoda by layering brown butcher paper on top of some green mural paper we had.  Then I drew up some banners, and printed out pictures of the covers of the four Origami Yoda books.  These went up on the big, gray, empty wall at the end of our Technology Loft, and we taped Yodas all around it.

This photo was also taken by Leigh.

This photo was also taken by Leigh. The banner on the bottom says, ‘1,000 (plus 118) Origami Yodas!’ Yoda’s speech bubble says, ‘Stooky you are, Brooklyn!’ I’ll get to the word ‘stooky’ in a moment.

I also prepared a sign to give passersby some context of what the display is about.  In it, I summarized the 1,000 Origami Yoda project, outlined the Japanese tradition of folding 1,000 paper cranes, and defined that word, ‘stooky’.  ‘Stooky’ is the catchphrase of a secondary character in the Origami Yoda series named Murky.  Basically, when you call something ‘stooky’, you are saying it is awesome.

Yoda Display SignThen we began to tape, working on two fronts before meeting up in the middle.  I did most of my taping on the wall, because, well, I am the tallest person in the department and can reach the farthest.  Leigh started hundreds of feet away by the Children’s Entrance, taping up Yodas in single file along the bottom of the Technology Loft (it spans the entire width of the Children’s Department).  Paulo and Tatiana did a lot of pre-taping for both of us, as well as putting up Yodas themselves.  In all, it was a 2 1/2 day effort.  We started on Tuesday and wrapped up early on Thursday afternoon.

Photos are inadequate to portray the scope and size of the display.  So, as they say in sportscasting, let’s go to the video!  I walked the display on Friday before the library opened with my iPhone.  I later put the footage into iMovie, did some rudimentary editing, and overlaid it with a catchy music track I found on the Free Music Archive by a Japanese band called springtide.   Take a look at the video below, they’re all there, all 1,118 Origami Yodas folded at the Brooklyn Public Library in the Summer of 2013!

                                                         ~Catherine

7 Responses to “Goodbye, Summer 2013: It’s the Final 1,000 Origami Yoda Post (with Video)”

  1. magpielibrarian September 8, 2013 at 7:50 pm #

    I HELPED TOO

    • magpielibrarian September 8, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      Oh, and the video is rad!

      • zbeforey September 8, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

        Thank you. It’s the first time I used iMovie. I almost messaged Mr. Edwin a couple times for help.

      • magpielibrarian September 8, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

        HEAVEN FORBID!

    • zbeforey September 8, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      You did, I’m sorry! When I was working on it, it was mostly with Leigh, Tatiana, and Paulo. To the 2 or 3 readers of this blog: The Magpie Librarian IS a team player!

      • magpielibrarian September 8, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

        Don’t tell people that. I might be asked to do more work.

      • zbeforey September 8, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

        I just Laughed Out Loud, for real.

Leave a Reply

